How to say more by speaking less

You can say more by speaking less and listening to those around you.

AGW
4 min readMar 29, 2024

Of the several quotes that I have on the walls in my living room, arguably one of the most meaningful is this one; “The silent man is the best to listen to”, a quote I discovered entirely by accident when I was browsing through Displate, here it is for those interested:

I placed it in what I deemed the most appropriate place in my apartment next to my bar, far from the noise of the other quotes in front of my desk. A reminder when I go to pour myself a relaxing beverage of whiskey, rum or bourbon at the end of a busy day that it’s far more important to listen than it is to speak.

Japanese knowledge

I was reminded of this recently while watching the Shogun series on Disney Plus. The Japanese are the masters of saying much by saying very little at all, so that when they do speak, their words resonate and demand your attention. This skill is practised by the most successful individuals and leaders: CEOs, military leaders, sports…

--

--

AGW

A Gentleman Writer by name A Gentleman who Writes by nature so come and explore the world through my eyes and words. Blogger with a unique view on the world.